Keep On Keepin’ On

The funny thing about life is that it keeps right on moving forward regardless of grief or loss or crisis. This is particularly true when you have children. Lexi, especially, is entirely oblivious to our grief. She’s maintained her routine of eating, sleeping, cuddling and laughing (usually in that order). In a way, I’m grateful for this sweet distraction even as I feel a pang of guilt for the fact that everything here is still “normal.” I know that my friend’s loss was tragic and was in no way my fault, but every time the Irishman walks through our door, I can’t help but lean heavily on him in gratitude simply because I can. (There’s that guilt again.)

Speaking of Lexi, looking at this picture above, I realize that it’s been a while since I’ve posted one of her. As you can see, her bottom two teeth are now fully in and she’s also cut one top tooth (with another one coming any day now). She’s putting those teeth to good use and eating finely diced fruit and shredded cheese. Crazy, right? Oh and in case you’re wondering, she’s still mostly immobile. With each day that passes, I’m more convinced that she thinks crawling is for the birds. She generally scoots herself over to a piece of furniture and then pulls up so that she can cruise along even though she can’t go far….yet.

In case you’re wondering if I’m getting any work done, I’m managing (albeit barely). Parker snapped this picture of us right before I left for my conference and this is generally how I work – one hand on the computer, the other one holding her up as she toddles around in circles. I’m just praying that she holds off on walking until near or after her first birthday since that’s also the end of the semester and I’m not going to get a lick of work done if I have to chase her around the house.

As for the rest of the family…let’s just say that they’re definitely feeling the effects of my absence. I don’t think anyone slept well for the 6 nights that I was gone, but now that we’re all safely back under one roof again, they’re catching up on sleep just fine.

As an aside, if you look closely, you’ll notice that Parker’s toenails are blue. I happened to paint mine that color on a whim yesterday and he asked me to paint his, too. He’s asked me this a dozen times before and I had always found some reason (that didn’t sound blatantly sexist) to put him off. In my current frame of mind, however, it seems silly to deny him something so simple just because of cultural expectations. So, I sent my son to school with blue toenails. I’m sure his teacher got a chuckle out of that.

Other than that, we’re just anxiously awaiting spring and sunshine. I know that we had quite the mild winter comparatively speaking, but it’s still been cold and rainy and we’re ready to trade in our winter boots for flip flops. Sunshine is always good for the soul.

 

 

One thought on “Keep On Keepin’ On

  1. evie February 27, 2012 / 8:46 pm

    I like Parker’s toe nails but I like more Lexi’s face and new teeth, she looks so cute!!

Leave a Reply

