Winding Down and Gearing Up

Well, I’ve survived the last two weeks of the semester. This is the absolute most stressful time of year for both students and myself. There is such a sense of relief when I finally hit the “submit” button on final grades. For better or for worse, the semester is done. Ahhhhhh.

Of course, now I need to wrap up a publication, finalize a survey for a new research project, begin work on the next issue of the departmental newsletter and prepare for a 3-day summer institute for faculty where I crazily agreed to be a facilitator. Next to all of that (which all needs to happen in the next 10 days), packing for our summer trip should be a cinch, right?

After two years away from Greece, I am anxious to get there. Greece is my motherland. It’s the home of gyros and baklava. Of pristine beaches and imposing mountains. Of beer and sunsets. Of cousins and friends. Quite simply, it is my favorite place on earth and this year, my friends, I am not working while I am there. That’s right, I am turning my work email off, packing up the kids and my beach bag and taking a 5 week vacation of fun in the sun. It has been over a decade since I have gotten any amount of R&R and this year, I need it. I mean, I really need it. I am one explosive poop (Lexi’s, not mine) away from losing my ever-loving mind.

In short, here’s my to do list for Greece:

  • Build sandcastles with Parker
  • Take Lexi for her first ocean swim
  • Eat really good seafood
  • Cook with my mother
  • Go on photographic outings with my dad
  • Eat more good food
  • Read trashy romance novels
  • Paint my toenails a ridiculous shade of pink, or purple, or blue (or all three)
  • Take walks around the mountain
  • Eat too many olives
  • Visit the farmers market every Monday
  • Play Uno with Parker
  • Greet every sunset with a beer in my hand
  • Laugh. A lot.
  • Make up silly stories.
  • Watch old movies.

Yup, that pretty much sums it up. Like most working-from-home moms, I so often tell the kids, “Just one more minute, honey” as I’m furiously typing on the keyboard trying to meet some deadline. This summer, I want to be readily available for silliness and seriousness. For beach time and nature walk time. For coloring and painting. This summer is all about FUN!

 

One thought on “Winding Down and Gearing Up

  1. Jessica May 7, 2012 / 5:15 pm

    Love it and look forward to your reports of fun times for all. P.S. 50 Shades of Grey is about as trashy as it gets – pick up a copy!

Leave a Reply

