Lazy Person’s Deviled Eggs

So, here’s the deal – I have gotten seriously lazy about feeding myself. I don’t mind pulling together a nutritious dinner to feed the entire family, but when it comes to lunch (and it’s just me and Lexi), I’m all about maximizing protein and calories with minimal effort.

Enter the lazy person’s deviled egg. At the beginning of the week, I’ll often hard-boil and peel 6 or so eggs. I keep these peeled eggs in a glass tupperware in the fridge. When I start to get hungry, somewhere between my 3rd and 4th cup of coffee, I’ll grab a couple of eggs and slice them in half.

I love the taste of deviled eggs, but I can’t be bothered with the scooping of the yolk and the dicing and seasoning of the yolks before re-stuffing the eggs. Instead, I add the following ingredients to each half of the hard-boiled egg:

  • a smear of mayo
  • a squirt of mustard
  • a sprinkling of seasoning salt
  • a shake of dill
  • a shake of paprika

And viola! You end up with something that tastes like deviled eggs, but that only took 30 seconds to throw together. I often eat 2 eggs this way with a side of sliced, salted tomato. While it’s no gourmet lunch, it gives me the protein I need without any hassle. As an added bonus, it’s something that I can make either one-handed or with a toddler hanging from my legs. Ah, motherhood.

Leave a Reply

