Saute Veggies Once for Four Different Meals

As you folks know, I’m a nut about efficiency. It’s not just that I don’t like wasting time (which I don’t). It’s that I simply can’t afford it if I want to keep any shred of my sanity. So when it comes to meal times, I’m always trying to find ways to reduce the prep work without reducing the variety of the meals I prepare. Also, fresh produce makes up the majority of my grocery budget, so using the same veggies for multiple meals costs less. Bonus! I generally cook just shy of being fully done since they’ll get a bit more cooking as I reheat them for each of the various meals below.

Over the last couple of weeks, the veggie combo that I’ve been loving is: zucchini, squash, onion, mushroom and garlic. I’ll slice everything uniformly thin and then saute it in olive oil with just salt and pepper to season it. Then, I’ll make these four things over the next couple of days.

1) Omelet – Put 1/2 cup of sauteed veggies in a pan and add 2 beaten eggs (don’t forget the Srirachia!) Cook on a low heat until the eggs are cooked through. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese to finish.

2) Veggie Quesadilla – Put one large tortilla in a hot saute pan. Add veggies to your liking, top with monterrey jack cheese and cook over medium heat until cheese is melted and tortilla is puffing up. Fold tortilla in half, slice and enjoy!

3) Stir Fry – Cook up some sliced chicken, pork or shrimp in canola or peanut oil (seasoning lightly with salt and pepper). Once the meat is cooked, add in the sauteed veggies and season with soy sauce or teriyaki sauce and stir to combine. Serve over rice and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

4) Ravioli with sauteed vegetables – This one is beyond delicious! Well, they all are, but I’ve made this every single week since I first had it at my friend’s house back in February. First, buy packaged ravioli (I generally get cheese ravioli, but any ravioli would be fantastic). Cook the ravioli according to package directions. Then, add it to your pan with the sauteed veggies (adding in a little bit of extra olive oil). Stir to combine and serve it up with shredded (not grated) mozzarella. So good!

Leave a Reply

