The Brandcation Blog Lodge Contest: Gatlinburg or Bust!

Last week, I randomly looked at my blog history and realized that I’ve been blogging about my shenanigans for over four years. I paused and recounted the years (using my fingers) because surely it hasn’t been that long since the marathon and Parker’s Thomas the Train phase, has it? And yet, my fingers don’t lie.

I’ve blogged about my family and our travels. About cooking and burning off those calories. About births and losses. Oh, and about how my dog eats poop and my cat has a fake eye. There is, however, one thing that I haven’t done in my blog and that’s finding a way to connect with the blogging community as well as with brands. This year, I’ve set out to change that and I found the perfect opportunity through which to do it.  I would absolutely lurve to attend the Brandcation: Blog Lodge event coming up in October and really form some meaningful connections with a wonderful group of women. Even though the event is sold out, there’s a contest going on right now that is sponsored by the lovely ladies behind MomDot, Life with Levi and Just Stop Screaming that includes the price of the ticket, lodging and a $100 travel stipend and boy, do I want to win!

First, let’s start with the obvious – a trip to Gatlinburg, Tennessee with 33 other bloggers would be divine! I mean, we’d get to go to the Dixie Stampede! I’d feel right at home there. Have I ever mentioned that I used to compete in trick horse riding? No? Well, it’s true. See for yourself.

Ladies and gentlemen, don’t try this at home.

Then, there’s a trip planned to Dollywood. DOLLYWOOD! Man, do I love roller coasters. You know, some people say that I bear a striking resemblance to Dolly, but I’m not so sure. I just don’t see it, myself.

Hi y’all!

Besides the excursions, the bloggers will all be staying at the “Blog Cabin.” It’s (wait for it) a log cabin. BUT, it’s not just any old cabin. No-sir-ee. It’s a gorgeous, dream-house log cabin. I’ve spent the last handful of days dreaming about staying there (instead of just reading about it online) and it’s so easy to imagine myself hanging out in the front, greeting my fellow bloggers…

Can I help you with your luggage?

…and heading inside to join in some chatting and bonding…and probably blogging.

Sure, I’ll sleep on the futon!

On a serious note, I would love to use this opportunity to learn how to grow my blog, connect with brands and to make some new blogging friends from whom I could learn so much. In fact, I want to go so badly that I am willing to ride my bike there from another state and to raise money for charity while I do it.

That’s right, if I get chosen to attend, I’ll set up a charity webpage and start training for the mountainous trip to raise money for a great cause! I’d be happy to ride for a charity of the sponsors’ choosing. Considering that I haven’t ridden my bike since I got pregnant with Lexi (in 2010!) it’s going to be a hard road, but I know I can do it. Naturally, I’ll blog about my training and each ride will bring me a tiny step closer to Brandcation!

It’s time to bring the pain. And the fun, of course.

 

6 thoughts on “The Brandcation Blog Lodge Contest: Gatlinburg or Bust!

  1. Lorie Shewbridge July 6, 2012 / 1:28 pm

    WOW… that is an amazing blog post. I am glad that I’m not on the judging committee because I want to go, too and I’d have a hard time passing over your post.
    I totally love your photos. You are so creative and I am not. I just spoke with my heart.
    Good luck to you with the giveaway. HUGGLES!

    • dailycynema July 11, 2012 / 3:46 pm

      Thanks Lori, I really appreciate your comment. I definitely wish there was room for all of us!

  2. KBunn (@KBunn) July 16, 2012 / 1:55 pm

    Wishing you tons of luck. I saw that you won. I drove that road over the mountains in March and there is absolutely no way I could ever bike them. You are a rock star!

    • dailycynema July 16, 2012 / 3:00 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m definitely going to need the luck. I live in the mountains so I’m going to start riding 4 days a week and slowly build up to the steep roads. The last 20 miles of my ride into Gatlinburg will be downhill, but the middle 18 miles is all up, up, up. *gulp*

  3. xxplumcrazeexx August 2, 2012 / 9:07 pm

    Congrats on your win and biking up there in the Smoky Mountains. Good Luck to you!

Leave a Reply

