Help Me Choose My New Rivet & Sway Glasses!

When we moved from urban Florida to the mountains of North Carolina three years ago, I barely looked back in the rear view mirror on our way out of town. We were over the traffic, over the broiling hot summers and ready for an outdoorsy life in our new rural home. Slowly, we realized that there were indeed a couple of things that we missed – our favorite pizza joint, college football games and shopping locally for whatever we needed.

We’ve adjusted pretty well to the things that we’re lacking, (I can now make a mean homemade pizza and we head down to a football game every season) but the shopping has definitely been hit or miss. Sure, I can order most things online, but there are things that sometimes have to be tried on before committing to a purchase. I found this out the hard way when I started shopping for my prescription eyeglasses online. There were tons of websites out there that sold glasses, but I was seriously nervous about filling my prescription without getting to try on the frames because it’s not exactly the same thing as buying a pair of jeans, you know? So, I didn’t. I kept on wearing my same old glasses from my Florida days thinking that one day, I’d make the drive down to Atlanta to check out a wide selection of frames in person and probably drop way more money than I intended.

But, guess what? All is not lost! There is a company out there that has perfected the online eyeglass shopping experience and has saved me from wearing my same old glasses for the next handful of years.  I heard about Rivet & Sway just 3 days ago and fell in love with their concept. Get this, they will send you 3 frames of your choice for free in their Home Try-On kit that will get to you in just a couple of days. You then have 3 days to try on the frames (again and again and again) before shipping them back, again for free (they include prepaid postage in the package). How easy is that?

Well, I immediately went online and had a crazy hard time deciding on which 3 frames I wanted to try on – there are a ton of styles to pick from. I decided to read their style tips, which really helped me narrow down my choices and I placed my frame order on Tuesday. Imagine my glee when today, this box was waiting for me when I got back from campus.

Lexi was napping so I ran upstairs and ripped into the box because let’s face it, I love
getting packages in the mail! Each frame came in its own box and arrived in perfect condition.

Then came the big reveal -here are the darling and daring red frames that I chose to try on. From top to bottom, the styles are Street Smart, Ruby Red and Besame Mucho.

 Okay, so here’s where I need your help. I love all of them and am having the hardest time deciding on my own. Which ones do you like best?

 If you need another perspective to help you decide (since I went all serious in the first set of pictures), here are some candids of what I’ll probably look like in real life since I’m almost always making goofy faces. Oh and the frames are in the same order as the above picture, so you can still vote for top (Street Smart), middle (Ruby Red), or bottom (Besame Mucho) frames.

Thanks for your input everyone. Feel free to include your vote in the comments. I can’t wait to see which pair you like best. Best of all, I can’t wait to order my new frames and start sporting some stylish new specs!

Disclaimer: The great folks at Rivet & Sway are providing me with a pair of eyeglasses of my choice. No monetary compensation was made and all opinions in this post are entirely my own. 

23 thoughts on “Help Me Choose My New Rivet & Sway Glasses!

  1. Courtney July 26, 2012 / 5:23 pm

    I vote for Street Smart!!! 🙂 Good looking glasses. 🙂

    • dailycynema July 26, 2012 / 9:13 pm

      Thanks, Courtney! I can’t wait to have cute glasses again to give my contacts a break.

    • dailycynema July 26, 2012 / 9:13 pm

      This is crazy fun! I should do all of my shopping this way. Ha!

  2. Danielle July 26, 2012 / 5:23 pm

    I actually like the 3rd ones, the bottom in each picture!

    • dailycynema July 26, 2012 / 9:14 pm

      Thanks, Danielle! I keep waffling between 1 and 3. I can’t wait to Tally the votes.

  3. Anne July 26, 2012 / 5:30 pm

    I like the Street Smart the best on you. Shows your eyes the best and doesn’t obscure your brows at all.

    • dailycynema July 26, 2012 / 9:15 pm

      Thanks for your input, Anne. Street Smart was my initial choice…and then I started second guessing myself (of course).

  4. Megan Broutian July 26, 2012 / 5:45 pm

    1 or 3 🙂

  5. CoffeeRed July 26, 2012 / 6:12 pm

    Street Smart!

  6. Danielle July 26, 2012 / 8:34 pm

    Street Smart looks perfect on you!

  7. crunchymetromom July 26, 2012 / 8:50 pm

    I like Street Smart the best. SO wish I could’ve gotten into this opp, but I ran into an issue with my Rx…in that my eye doc thinks my current glasses (OLD OLD OLD) are overly strong, but I’m not convinced that the new script will work okay. I needed a spare pair, so they’re on order and we’ll see if her new script is too wimpy for my orbs. LOL

  8. Beck July 26, 2012 / 9:11 pm

    I love Street Smart the best, then Besame Mucho next. Not fond of Ruby Red.

  9. Dean July 26, 2012 / 10:12 pm

    Definitely the top one! Looks like “it fits” you

  10. Jessica July 27, 2012 / 12:10 am

    besame! (this doesn’t mean that I want you to kiss me, but i like the glasses!)

    • dailycynema July 27, 2012 / 7:06 am

      Come on Jessica, you know you want a smooch. Ha!

    • dailycynema July 27, 2012 / 7:07 am

      Okay see, that kind of enthusiasm has me totally waffling! I guess loving multiple frames is the better problem to have, right?

  11. Kari July 27, 2012 / 8:48 am

    #1 or #3…I personally like #3. They look great on you.

  12. local kitchen August 6, 2012 / 12:21 pm

    Thanks to you, I ordered my own three frames from Rivet & Sway to try on! (All Who Wander, Pinstripe and Faster Pussycat). I also can’t decide – I think I might have to try 3 more!

    FWIW, I think the Besame make your eyes look bigger (but maybe you just had them a bit more wide open when the picture was snapped?) but the Street Smart seems to spread your eyes out a bit, rather than draw them in. Personally, I like the Street Smart style better, but that is simply because I have an issue with the wide arm on the Besame. I do like the Ruby Red, but I think it sits a bit high on you and might overwhelm your face a touch.

    Thanks so much for pointing me in the direction of Rivet & Sway: I’ve needed new glasses for *ages* and simply haven’t bitten the bullet. At this price, I may order two pairs! 🙂

    • dailycynema August 6, 2012 / 8:58 pm

      I’m so excited to hear this! I DID end up going with the Street Smart – I’ll post a pic in the next couple of days for sure. I’d love to see you in your three frames when you get them!

Leave a Reply

