German Fried Eggs and Potatoes

So, remember last week when I shared our crazy adventure in Cologne, Germany? Well, the last time we ate there, I had the sausage sampler plate that had 5 different types of sausage. If you’ve never been to Germany, the varieties of sausage are endless so I really wanted to try as many different varieties as I could get my hands on. While it was delicious, this trip was a different experience altogether because these days, massive amounts of sausage consumption isn’t really my thing.

I scanned the menu and tried to find something that was neither pork-based nor pickled fish (which is apparently a German staple) and I finally settled on the Fried Eggs and Potatoes. I was famished and eggs and potatoes sounded just perfect. The plate that they brought me was teeming with fried potatoes, onions and bacon (which wasn’t indicated on the menu) and topped with three fried eggs.

My leftovers in Cologne – bacon bits and most of one egg.

Thankfully, I’m not a strict pescatarian so I can just eat around the bacon bits and the presence of bacon grease wasn’t a big deal. I have to admit, it was pretty dang tasty. I left there feeling full, satisfied and reconsidering the absence of (organic, locally raised) pork in my life.

Last week, I decided to make this dish at home. I opted to serve it for dinner because it’s pretty heavy and because I knew that the boys would be happy with the addition of bacon.

A taste of Germany in the mountains of North Carolina.

Here’s what you’ll need (I’m leaving the quantities intentionally vague because they will all depend on how many people you’re feeding):

Diced potatoes (more on this later)
Diced onions
Bacon
Eggs

**Okay, about your diced potatoes. I made this recipe the day after I made loaded potato skins. In the process of making potato skins, I had microwaved 4 baking potatoes and then scooped out (and set aside) the insides. So, for this recipe, I used the already baked potato innards (nice visual, huh?) as the diced potatoes. You could definitely use raw diced potatoes, but it would take a lot longer to cook. I’m going to give you instructions for making this with cooked potatoes, but just add 10 minutes of cooking time if you’re using raw potatoes. 

First, fry up some bacon in your skillet. Get it nice and crispy and when it’s done, let it drain on a paper towel-lined plate. Remove all but a couple of tablespoons of bacon grease from the pan. I realize that I don’t normally encourage you to cook with bacon grease, but for this German recipe, it really adds to the flavor. I promise that your regularly scheduled Daily Cynema programming will keep the focus on healthy eating, but I just had to sneak this one in here for nostalgic reasons.

Okay, now we’re going to add the diced potatoes to the bacon grease. This is really important – add the the potatoes to the pan and let them be for around 5 minutes. Resist the urge to stir! You want them to get a nice golden crust and for that to happen, they need to stay in the same position. After the 5 minutes are up, give them a stir and let the other side brown for a couple of minutes before adding in the onions. The potatoes and onions should only need another couple of minutes to cook (just until the onions soften) before piling them onto a plate.

After you’ve removed the potatoes and onions from the pan, put the same pan back on the stove, but drop the heat to low. Crack your eggs into the pan (I usually do two per person) and fry them over low heat. Add a touch of salt and pepper. To help the tops cook without cooking the yolks solid, I usually put a large lid over the eggs and allow them to steam. Once your eggs are cooked to your liking, add them on top of the potato saute and serve ’em up!

Our German waiter served this dish with a spicy mustard, but I prefer good ol’ hot sauce myself. Either way, it’s a seriously filling and tasty dish. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

