Disney’s “The Odd Life of Timothy Green”

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending an advanced screening of the new Disney movie The Odd Life of Timothy Green. After three days of running around Manhattan like a crazy person, I was so looking forward to sitting still for a couple of hours and escaping into the story. Let’s just say that I had no idea how deeply I would fall into this movie.

While I had seen the trailer for The Odd Life of Timothy Green, I wasn’t remotely prepared for my emotional reaction to the characters from the very beginning. You see, at its core, this movie is about home and family. Cindy and Jim Green (Jennifer Garner and Joel Edgerton) are a happily married couple who desperately want a child and when they are told that having a biological child isn’t a possibility, they are left with nothing but the hopes and dreams of what their child might have been like.

I’m not sure if I ever shared with all of you the story of when I knew I wanted to be a parent. I was out for coffee with a good friend who was moving away and we spent hours talking about the future. Towards the end of our conversation, she asked me out of the blue, “Cyn, if you were to die tomorrow, what would be your one regret?” My answer was instantaneous: I would regret not getting to be a mom. I grabbed my keys, hugged my friend goodbye and took off for the house. I ran to find my husband and, breathless from racing through the house, I asked him the same question. Without hesitation, his answer was the same. In that moment, we knew that waiting for the ‘perfect time’ was pointless – we desperately wanted to be parents.

That story flew through my mind as I watched Cindy and Jim Green struggle with her infertility. While I was blessedly able to get pregnant quickly, my heart ached for them because their devastation was so clearly conveyed.

With a bit of Disney magic, Timothy Green (CJ Adams) is born out of their yearning and from the day he enters their lives, he enriches and teaches and touches every person he meets. Speaking of Timothy Green, I have to tell you all, the little boy that plays him is fantastic! He has such an inherent sweetness and honesty to him as well as a maturity that completely belies his youth. I have no idea how he can convey such depth of feeling, but even though I kept repeating to myself that it’s just a story, it’s just a story, it’s just a story, I found myself fighting tears throughout the movie. Tears of sadness, tears of joy, tears of hope – good grief, I was a blubbering fool by the end of the film!

The story is set in the small town of Stanleyville and it is so much more than just a story about a couple who wants to have a child. It’s a story about relationships that enrich us and it asks us to dare to hope that everything really can work out for the best even when it seems that the situation is hopeless. True to form, Disney keeps a steady pull at your heartstrings for the entire movie. 

The Odd Life of Timothy Green comes out August 15, 2012 and is rated PG. Go see it next week with your friends, your sweetie or your kids (don’t forget your tissues!) and then hurry back so that we can talk about it and be blubbering fools together. The tears are worth it. Promise!

Disclaimer: The screening was hosted by Disney, free of charge. No monetary compensation was provided for this post and all opinions are completely my own. 

Leave a Reply

