First Day of School!

Back to school is my absolute favorite time of year. When I was a kid, I would obsess over Trapper Keepers (do they still have those around?), lunch boxes and first day of school clothing. I would wake up hours before I needed to (mostly thanks to the jet lag of coming back from Greece) and I would pace the house until it was finally time for school.

I think I loved each new school year because it was a fresh start. I would wonder: Would
my best friends be in my class? What would my teacher be like? Would I get to use my new protractor? Totally not joking here, folks. Those of you who have known me forever can attest to the fact that I have always been a smarty pants geek. Thankfully, I was a jock, too, which saved me from being a complete social pariah. Anyways, the point is that I have been waiting for Parker’s entry to kindergarten since the day he was born.

Well, my baby boy is finally off to school and you know what? He is totally mellow about the whole thing. He walked through those halls like he owned them and he ran into his classroom, found his cubby and started playing right away with barely a wave goodbye. When I went back to pick him up almost 7 hours later, he was cheerful and upbeat.

As I was driving away towards the house, he said, “Mommy, you don’t have to walk me to my classroom next week. Just drop me off out front and I can get there myself.” I looked at this little person in my rear view mirror and I silently wondered when he got so big and so confident that he could make his way through a new building without holding my hand.

I replied, “Okay buddy, but I’m always here if you need me.”

He looked at me and smiled. “I know, mommy.”

Boy, you’d think that he could at least pretend to need my reassurance for just a little bit longer, right?

 

Leave a Reply

