A List…

Today, I woke up with the feeling that something great was on the horizon. You know the feeling – it’s like something is bubbling up inside of you and you can’t help but smile about it. It’s a feeling of optimism, of excitement, of outright glee. The best part (or maybe the worst part) is that I can’t really pinpoint one specific thing making me feel this way. Maybe it’s the fact that within another month, our mountains will look like this:

 

Maybe it’s because the girl child is sleeping for almost 10 hours at a stretch 4 nights a week (hey, I’ll take it!). Or maybe it’s a hormonal imbalance causing a surge of happy hormones in my system making me feel this way. Most likely, it’s because I’m biking my tooshie off (literally) and I’ve found my groove at work so I no longer feel like a hamster spinning at warp speed. I swear, a good and consistent workout makes my soul sing and without that balance in my life, I feel a bit nuts. Regardless, I thought that on this fine day, I’d write a list about the things I love because the world could do with a bit more optimism and a bit less strife. So here goes:

1. I love that my children don’t try to kill each other regularly. I’m sure that it’s coming, but for right now, they adore each other and the way that they look at each other melts my heart.

2. I love that I live in these beautiful mountains and that my husband loved me enough to support me in our move to the middle of nowhere. It’s a gorgeous middle of nowhere, but whereas I thrive in the isolation, he occasionally struggles a bit with it.

3. Speaking of that, I love that we are a family unit. I’ve said it before, but in Tallahassee, we were living parallel lives. Here, we do things together all the time. Our weekends are mostly spent as a group and if we want to do things alone, we typically try to squeeze it in before the kids wake up (me) or after they go to sleep (him).

4. I love that right now, in this moment, everyone is healthy and whole. I know that can change in an instant, so I will savor it while I can.

5. I love that we’re headed into the season of hot chocolate and pumpkin muffins.

6. I love that I still feel young and that’s I’m still able to do the silliest of things (like riding my bike over a mountain range) without too many aches and pains.

7. I love that my job allows me to travel. There is no experience on this earth that I cherish more than learning new cultures and seeing new places – I’m thrilled to be able to share this world with my children.

8. I love that I’ve grown wiser with age. I’m still regularly prone to making mistakes, but I’m a softer, more tolerant version of my college self and I think it makes me a much better teacher and parent.

9. I love that I was fortunate enough to be born into a good home and in a 1st world country. The fact that I don’t worry about clean drinking water, proper sewage facilities or finding shelter is such a global privilege.

10. Finally, I love that I have all of you here to share this with. The Internet makes the world such a small place and even though I’m not physically near most of you, whenever I post on this little blog, I feel like I just picked up the phone and caught up with all of ya’.

Now go ahead and post a comment so it wasn’t entirely a one-way conversation. I sure do a lot of ‘talking’ around here! Ha!

4 thoughts on “A List…

  1. Anonymous September 26, 2012 / 6:52 pm

    I LOVE that you are a softer version of yourself 😉 Thank you for posting this, Cyn. I really needed some optimism in my life today! xoxo

  2. Dean September 26, 2012 / 10:30 pm

    You could have found a way to artificially fit your big brother into this love fest!

    • dailycynema September 27, 2012 / 1:11 pm

      You were totally subsumed into the “healthy and happy” category, big brother.

Leave a Reply

