Ramblings…

Today was the first day that I looked at the calendar and realized that we’re in December. I did a triple take this morning and thought, “That’s not right. We still have at least a month until Christmas!” Yup, it took me 12 days to finally catch up to the right month. That’s no surprise since I seem to blink and have whole months pass by. Just last week, someone asked me how old Lexi was and I immediately replied with, “18 months.” Which she was…almost 2 months ago.

Speaking of Lexi, that child is a parrot. She can repeat every single thing that you say no matter how complicated it sounds and we have tons of fun making her say things like “Supercalafragalisticexpialidocious.” I’m sure that’s misspelled, but you get the point. Who needs television when you have a parroting toddler! I need to get it on video one of these days. I did manage to get on film Lexi’s “smile” face.

“Lexi, SMILE!”

cheeese1

And for comparison, here’s Lexi’s regular face.

cheeese2

 

These two are so different in personality, but they’re having so much fun together. Lexi is feisty and fearless and Parker is sweet and cuddly, but the one thing they have in common is that they adore each other. Well, I should say that Lexi adores Parker and Parker adores that Lexi adores Parker. Did that make any sense at all? Anywho, Parker loves attention and Lexi gives it to him. Everyone’s happy, end of story. Whew. Clearly I don’t need more coffee today.

In the new house, each kidlet will have their own bedroom, which is a huge step up from our current set up. While Parker has his own room now, Lexi’s crib is set up in what is technically the office thanks to 3 walls of built-in bookshelves and desks. The alternative to this office set up was to have her sleep downstairs and I didn’t feel like shlepping it up and down stairs all night for months on end. I’ll be honest, I do have a bit of guilt that we never decorated a nursery for her, but we’re about to make up for it in a big way as we go to town decorating her new bedroom.

Don’t tell Parker, but we’re giving Lexi the slightly bigger room that comes with the bigger closet. Since we anticipate that we’ll be in the new house for a long time, Lexi is bound to have more clothes and shoes than Parker down the line (I mean, she already does!), so the bigger closet will come in handy. My sweet Parker isn’t much bothered by anything, so let’s hope that this minor decision doesn’t result in accusations of favoritism or the need for extensive therapy in his adult years. Truly, there is nothing so powerful as the guilt of a parent.

Regardless, they are both going to have kick butt rooms….just as soon as I figure out how I’m going to decorate them. Parker keeps vacillating between wanting his room painted red, black or rainbow, so I think I might need to make an executive decision on the paint color and let him accessorize with his rather bold taste. As for Miss Lexi, she’s too young to be able to voice her opinion (well, about paint colors at least) so I’ll have to take into account her potentially changing tastes over the next handful of years.

As a child, the one absolute privilege I had was to pick the color of my room (starting at about the age of 10) so I’ll probably do the same thing with my kids, too. I remember feeling so empowered when I picked that bright unicorn purple and to my father’s credit, he put it up in my room without so much as a grimace. I loved that color…for 2 years at least until I switched to bright teal. On second thought, maybe I will take Parker with me to pick up paint colors. Life is rigid enough without having to follow rules about what color to paint rooms, right?

 

Leave a Reply

