Labor of Love

Hi folks! I wanted to pop in really quickly to say that we’re alive. We’re snowed under with working on the house (but thankfully not literally) and overwhelmed by all of the projects going on, but we’re still kicking for now. I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkuh, a Happy Kwansaa and a Happy New Year – there, I squeezed them all in. We’ve had family visiting and staying true to form, we decided to put them to work. My mother has been reupholstering my dining room chairs, my dad has been tearing up carpet and refinishing windows and my mother-in-law has been helping me paint the entire house. Plus, a Plott Hound (now named Daisy Duke) showed up half-starved on our back deck – more on that later – so it’s been quite the circus around here.

Oh and the Irishman and Parker have been on leaf clearing duty – a herculean task considering that the impressive yard has not been raked since last March (at least). The fence guys are actually at the house right now getting our yard ready for the new fence (yay!) so things are moving and shaking at the new place.

It has been back-breaking work, but we are determined to have the house (or at least the inside) shiny and new before we move in at the end of this month. We’ve also started boxing up our current house and have been taking over a car load of boxes each time we head over there to help facilitate the move.

I promise that there will be pictures soon -lots and lots of pictures – but I just wanted to let you all know that I haven’t forgotten about the Daily Cynema. Thanks for checking in and I’ll be back shortly with updates.

Back to the grind,

Cyn

Leave a Reply

