All Girl

lexi_baby

As much as I’ve tried exposing Lexi to traditional “boy” and “girl” stuff equally, it’s interesting to see her gravitate towards the girl stuff. Yep, Lexi is all girl. She insists on carrying a baby doll wrapped in a blanket, she changes shoes and outfits multiple times a day, she tries to play in my make up and she doesn’t leave the house without her Minnie Mouse hat (see above) that my mom made for her.

I have two conclusions about this: (1) She is encouraged to play with girl stuff at school, so it’s a learned behavior; or (2) Each kid, boy or girl, just happens to have a different personality and plays with some things more than others.

What’s funny is that I so desperately didn’t want my kids to feel that they had to conform to some stereotype that I’m a tiny bit disappointed that she’s into pink, princesses and shoes. I know – I have issues. The bottom line is that I’m committed to supporting my kids in whatever they may like so if that means that we’re shopping for princess stuff now, so be it.

Hoping that the pink is just a phase,

Cyn

 

2 thoughts on “All Girl

  1. Click on www.travelafricamag.com May 15, 2013 / 1:49 pm

    I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can’t find your
    e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me understand in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • dailycynema May 27, 2013 / 1:21 pm

      Thanks for your comment. You can enter your email address on the right hand side of the home screen (right under the Twitter link) to subscribe to the Daily Cynema. Thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

