Lexi Is Two.

Our sweet, darling precocious, temperamental little girl is two. Two?! How? What?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those moms who savor every second of babyhood and weep at its departure. I’m not judging those lovely mothers – I’m just not one of them.

If you’ve been reading this little blog for awhile, you know that with Parker, I declared each passing year my favorite. I love watching my kids grow and learn. When they start to communicate and we can share facts, trivia, geography…it fills my soul with glee. It probably has something to do with the fact that I chose to be a college professor and not a pre-school teacher. I just do better with them when they’re older. Perhaps I’m more in my teaching element? I’m not sure, so while I’m thrilled that Lexi is another year older, I still can’t believe that we’re already at two.

Ah, two. I hear that it’s the age of the tantrum. The era of aggressive independence. Since we’ve been living in that place of willful insanity with our little vixen since about the age of 15 months, I feel like we’re well prepared for what’s to come over the next year. What’s amazing is the evolution that her little personality has gone through.

She started out as the calmest baby.

lexibirth

Well, she was clearly agitated in the first few minutes after her birth, but after she settled down, she was such a joy. Even with the sleepless nights, round the clock nursing and teething pains, little Miss Lexi was fairly easy as far as babies went. At least I think she was easy – mother nature has a funny way of giving you parental amnesia with regard to the bad stuff.

Then, before we knew it, our little girl turned one.

lexi1

 

She was walking and talking…then running and sassing. With each passing day after that first birthday, Lexi became more her own person and less an extension of me. As we approached her second birthday, it was quite clear that she knew what she wanted and when she wanted it. Interestingly, the last year has been a total blur. I think it’s because it was just so dang busy for us all. Trying to juggle having her home while working; buying a new house and moving;… let’s just say that I’m happy we all survived this past year with at least some of our sanity intact.

birthday girl

 

And so here we are. In the land of ballerinas and fairies. I’m trying to withhold both my judgement of these things and my own selfish wish that she would steer clear of all things pink and princess-like. My parental pledge is to support exactly who my kids are, so if that means that Lexi wants tutus and ballet slippers, so be it. I’m not sure what the age of two will bring, but I do know this – wherever our little Lexi leads, we will follow. In Parker’s words, she’s the boss of us all.

One thought on “Lexi Is Two.

  1. Meg Shannon April 22, 2013 / 4:15 pm

    I need that picture in the polka dot dress. So damn cute. 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

