Stuffed Mushrooms: A Gift From The Gods

This week officially marks the last week of my semester. Halle-freakin-lujah! It has been an amazing semester, but an incredibly busy one as well. I can’t tell you what a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders now that things are winding to a close. I feel relaxed, satisfied with another academic year under my belt.

I think part of my peace of mind comes from finally feeling settled in our house. There’s a calm here that is soothing. If houses have souls, ours has the soul of a happy retiree rocking away on the front porch. Sure, the kids run around like maniacs and the Irishman and I can scarcely hear each other over the combined cacophony of the Phineas and Ferb sountrack and our barking dogs, but for some reason, I’m not nearly as frazzled by it as I should be. Or perhaps it’s just that my wine consumption has increased. Either way, things feel good right now.

The first visible sign that I’m feeling back in control of things is that I start cooking again. Or rather, that I start experimenting and trying new recipes again. My parents arrived in town a couple of days ago and we finally picked a patio set for the deck (pictures to come soon) so we decided to grill burgers and shrimp on the deck. While we were having our usual baked potato and salad for a side, I wanted to try something new as well.

I found these beautiful, large stuffing mushrooms at our local grocery store so I decided to make baked stuffed mushrooms.

Hello lovelies.
Hello lovelies.

The next step was figuring out what the heck to stuff them with. So, I did what I usually do: I looked at about 20 different online recipes and then I checked the contents of my fridge. The resulting recipe is the brain child of this method and man, it was good.

Here’s what you need:

About 1 dozen large mushrooms wiped clean (gently remove the stems and reserve)
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup onion
6 oz. whipped cream cheese
1/4 cup or so grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste
drizzle of olive oil

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees (I started at 375, but the mushrooms started to brown too quickly). Go ahead and dice your mushroom stems, garlic and onion. Next, heat your olive oil over medium high heat in a saute pan. Once the oil is hot, add in the mushrooms, garlic and onion and saute for about 4 minutes.

Cook, baby, cook!
Cook, baby, cook!

In a separate bowl, add in your cream cheese and Parmesan cheese. I prefer the whipped variety of cream cheese because it’s easier to stir and work with, but you could use regular cream cheese just as easily. Once your veggies are done sautéing, add them into your cheese mixture and add in salt and pepper (to taste) as well.

mushroom3

Once you’ve thoroughly mixed the filling, go ahead and spoon it into the mushroom caps.

mushroom4In case you were wondering, I have the mushroom caps sitting on a cookie sheet with a piece of parchment paper, which is my favorite non-stick cooking surface. You could use foil or just grease the pan as well. Now, pop these beauties into the preheated oven and cook them anywhere from 15-25 minutes (it all depends on the size of the mushrooms). I started checking them at 15 minutes, but the cheese filling wasn’t bubbly until 25 minutes – these suckers were huge!

mushrooms5Most of my recipes generally get a couple rounds of tinkering before I decide to share them with you, but these stuffed mushrooms were so tasty and so simple to throw together that I wanted you to have the recipe immediately. Hope you enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

