Miss Lexi is Threeee!

party07

party08

party01Well, well, well, Miss Lexi is three. I wish I could say that the first three years flew by, but let’s be real. Honestly, her birth feels like a lifetime ago and I don’t necessarily mean that in a bad way. As families with multiple kids know, when your second (or third, or fourth,…) offspring arrives, it’s as if they’ve always been there. This little miss, in particular, has made her presence known for every single day of these three years. It’s amazing how much energy and laughter (and screaming) that she has added to our world. She is a force to be reckoned with and, as you can see above, marches to the beat of her own drum.

If you’ll recall, when I first found out I was having a girl, I was terrified that I would have a small tyrant wielding a Barbie and bossing the boys around. I chuckle now, in a maniacal way, because that’s exactly what she is. And adorable, angelic-looking, tiny Titan who will move mountains with her will. It’s amazing how different two children can be. I sometimes worry about Parker because he has such a gentle heart and cannot yet conceive of the fact that sometimes, people are mean on purpose. He isn’t helpless, not by a long shot, but he is sensitive. I can honestly say that I do not have that same fear for Lexi. She is determined, independent, and has the heart of a lion. She won’t get hurt, she’ll get mad. Somehow, I think that mad is safer.

Both of my loves have changed a lot over the last three years, but one thing has remained the same. These two love each other with ferocity. Sure, they have the occasional sibling squabble, but more often than not, they are kind to each other and fiercely protective of one another.

lexibday3

 

lexibday

 

lexibday2

So regardless of how hard the transition was from one kid to two (very hard), I’m glad that they have each other. Happy birthday, sweet girl. Thanks for keeping us on our toes.

 

One thought on “Miss Lexi is Threeee!

Leave a Reply

