Back to my roots

Hi folks! Boy, it’s been a while. I took a much needed break from this little blog and…pretty much everything. In retrospect, I think that I had a big-time travel hangover. The idea of editing pictures just felt overwhelming because I came back from my trip pretty much flat out exhausted…

BUT today is a new day and we’re in a new month and I finally feel like I’m ready to jump back into life with both feet. For starters, I’m going to bring the blog all the way back to where it started: training for a race. Six years ago, the Daily Cynema launched to document my training, my meal plans, and my travels. I miss the focus that came with documenting and contemplating my progress.

As inducement/motivation, I’ve signed up for two half marathons over the next ten months.  First up is the Cherokee Harvest Half Marathon in October.

HarvestLeafLogo4

I’ve also signed up for the Wolf Double in June of 2015, which is a half marathon in Grand Teton National Park followed by a 5K in Yellowstone one week later.

half teton

 

I’m going to FINALLY post the last of my pictures from my trip to the Tetons last year. Those mountains were the most peaceful place I have ever visited in my life and I cannot.wait.to.go.back.

In other news, my right hip has been nagging me for about a year now and I finally went to a Sports Medicine Clinic to have it checked out. The good news is that it doesn’t look like it’s anything serious. The bad news is that I have a pretty long road of Physical Therapy ahead of me to get back to 100%. What does that mean? Well, I’m not sure how much of the Harvest Half I’ll actually be running versus walking, but that’s okay. The important thing is that I’m back in the game. I’ve pretty much taken 6 months off from everything so that I could rest and heal so it’s going to be a long, slow climb back to peak fitness.

Truth be told, it feels so good to have decided to commit to an active lifestyle again. Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

