A Life Worth Living

sunset

When I was in 5th grade, I distinctly remember walking into a library and having the realization that all of the world’s knowledge was at my fingertips. I could learn languages, facts about countries, stories about survivors… I only had to have the time and the motivation to do so. I began to read voraciously and never stopped.

To this day, I don’t understand two things: wasting time and being bored. Learning is a gift, not a chore–and there is so much knowledge to be had! People think I’m nuts because I wake up at 4am. How could I not? There are already too few hours in my life on this earth and frankly, I don’t want to squander a single one. I have this sense of urgency as if there won’t be enough time to see, to feel, to know. 

When I see people who just move through this world without purpose; neither happy nor sad…just there…it blows my mind. It’s like being a survivor of the apocalypse. I want to yell, “WAKE UP! Life is beautiful even when it’s tragic.” And so I find myself moving through this world seeking others who aren’t just alive, but who are truly living. When I find them, I exhale. I’m not alone after all.

Leave a Reply

