The Sickies

Well, it was bound to happen, but I didn’t expect it to happen until after we finished packing. I’m sick. I’m bedridden. I’m completely useless and all I can do is look around the house and cringe at the work that still needs to be done.

This week is all kinds of craziness. The movers get here on Wednesday morning. The Irishman and I drive up on Thursday evening and take possession of our stuff on Friday morning. We’ll then spend a fun-filled 4th of July weekend unpacking the essentials and then jet back to Tallahassee on Sunday night (Parker is staying with my in-laws) so that I can attend a final work meeting on Monday morning before packing up the circus (i.e. my dogs and cats) and heading back up to North Carolina on Wednesday.

I will have just over two weeks to get the house in order and all of my new job stuff taken care of before the rest of my little family joins me the first weekend in August. We’re excited about starting this next chapter in our lives, but so not excited about executing the next several weeks. The good news is that there’s a micro-brewery 1/10 of a mile from our house so at least we’ll be in good spirits.

Now, please excuse me while I go flop on the couch and will myself to get better in the next 8 hours.

Leave a comment