Campus From Above

Last week, I was invited to a colleagues house for a faculty reception. Her house is about two miles from campus – straight up the mountain side. The drive to her house reminded me an awful lot of our house in Greece. It also reminded me why we don’t “winter” at our summer home – it was two miles of driving on a sheet of ice! Definitely not for the faint of heart or owners of a 2-wheel drive.

Her house was lovely. I have such an affection for log cabins. Just look how warm and inviting it seems inside.
Photobucket
She also had a huge deck that overlooked campus.
Photobucket
As you can see here, our campus is nested in the valley right up against the Tuckaseegee River.
Here’s a closer look. That large black building is our basketball arena.
Photobucket
Just look at those gorgeous mountains…and this is considered the “ugly” time of year! Imagine this view in the summer and the fall!
Photobucket
Don’t worry, I already invited myself up so I’ll share the pictures with you as the seasons change.
While I think that a view like this would be phenomenal to live with, the drive down off of the mountain would definitely get burdensome, especially at this time of year. Knowing myself as I do, it’s probably wise that I don’t pick a house that is difficult to come down from – I may never leave home.

Leave a comment